How it all started.

Greetings beautiful people, I wanted to share with you my story, and the main reason I started this blog.

Four years ago, after the birth of my first child I wanted to lose that baby weight I had gained. So I did what everyone does, I dieted and I exercised. The weight was falling off, I was feeling so satisfied with myself, but i wanted to lose more, always striving to hit a new goal weight, losing weight became an obsession. I was a slave to the scale, I weighed myself every day, and if that scale went up just a tiny but I would drastically starve myself through the day and over exercise. My body hit rock bottom , my mental health was falling apart, I had no friends as I spent all my free time at the gym and I would never go out for a drink or a meal all those extra calories were not included in my 1000 calories restriction per day. My body gave out and I had to be hospitalized, I started to get the necessary help and for the time being I was getting better, I ate more, I ate exercised to a healthy extent. But that’s just phase 1, my body went through phase 2 and that was binge eating disorder.

I don’t know what happened, my body just clicked, i couldn’t control myself around food, eating was what I did 24/7, It didn’t matter what the food was, i just had to eat. The funny thing was, i didn’t care i just had to satisfy these food cravings. I was gaining weight and i didn’t care. I knew what I was doing wasn’t good and I knew that number on the scale meant severely overweight, but nop not a single care in the world. I couldn’t exercise because all that food made me feel sick just walking let alone exercising. This went on for a two whole years I had gained a total of 27 kilograms.

It was one day when i woke up and realised, its time to stop, it’s time to stop treating my body this way, i started to hear the needs of my body, no diets, no over exercising just hearing what my body wanted. I didn’t stop binge eating, I made myself aware that i have a problem and that i am the only person that could help myself out of this. My exercise was running after my son at the park, my diet was eating whatever i wanted but in moderate measures. If i wake up in the morning craving crunchy clusters i will take crunchy clusters, will that help me lose weight?  NOO , but i had to recover before i could focus on getting my body back in shape. I made sure i never skip a meal, if i’m craving chocolate, i make sure i pack chocolate in my bag, dark chocolate, maybe small kiddy party chocolate, i wouldn’t let my body crave chocolate for a whole day because i would end up stopping at the market before i go home and buying huge packs of chocolate and eating them all at one go.

It has been a year now, and i’m much better ! i don’t binge anymore, i do have some bad days once in a while but binging everyday,that non stop cycle has stopped. All I’ve lost in a year are 10 kilos, and I’ve never been happier with my achievement. That’s not a lot but I’m happy and i couldn’t be prouder of myself. I managed to break out of this cycle and i believe that if any of you are suffering from these bad habits i believe in you , you can do it, you are stronger than you think !!

 

I have made a list of a few things that I found to be helpful, here it goes:

  • SELF LOVE! Love your body, no matter what size you are, you are beautiful.
  • Don’t do it for anyone, do it for yourself.
  • Wake up saying I can do this, i am stronger than my inner demons.
  • DON’T DIET , don’t restrict anything from your body
  • Exercise to be healthy not to lose weight
  • Treat your body to everything, in moderation, but yes it needs everything!
  • Surround yourself with supportive people, confide in someone you trust, don’t be shy to confide in people you trust, you need as much support as you can get
  • Keep a diary, write down what triggers your binges, try to find a solution for that trigger, and try to replace that binge with something else. Long walks by the sea used to do the trick for me
  • Always take food to work, small, healthy meals

 

As this comes to an end I would like to thank you all for taking the time to read my story. I hope this has helped you. I wish you lots of love and happiness.stay strong fighters !

 

Love

Sim xxx

Leave a Reply

